Skip to content

Re-linking File Process Introduction ​

If you change the path or name of the model file, you can update the D5 project using the re-linking function, ensuring that previous lighting and material settings are preserved. This process is compatible with SU/SketchUp and 3dsMax real-time plug-ins.

  • Data synchronisation after model renaming/path changes

  • Avoid duplicate light overlays

  • Preserve historical material parameters

  • Inheritance of model attributes

Workflow ​

Method 1: Models linked to .drs before ​

Scenario: The model has been linked to a D5 project, but the local storage path or name has been altered.

Operating Steps ​

Activate Connection ​
  1. Click the “Connect to D5 Render” button in the DCC plug-in.
  2. Select the “Sync local Project” mode in the pop-up window.

image

Select the model to replace ​

Tick the target model to be replaced in the popup window. (D5 materials will be inherited after replacement)

Step 2
Step 2

Click “Replace and link” to complete the synchronisation.

Method 2: Open .drs and the modeling file together ​

Scenario: need to update both the model file and the associated project at the same time

Workflow: ​

  1. Open the D5 project file (.drs) and the modified model file at the same time.

  2. Click the ‘Connect to D5 Render’ button in the DCC plug-in.

Step 1
Step 1
  1. Select the corresponding model in the Replacement pop-up window.

  2. Tick the ‘’Light‘’ / ‘’Material‘’ options as required.

  3. Click ‘Replace and link’ to complete the synchronisation.

Step 2
Step 2
Replace and link logic
Replace and link logic

Option Description: ​

  • Tick ‘’Light‘’: Replace the light group with the same ID (historical parameters are preserved)

  • Tick ‘Material’: Replace materials with same names (historical parameters are preserved).

Note

  • ‘’Light‘’ replacement only supports SU/3dsMax LiveSync plug-ins.

    • No light/material ticking options for non-real-time plug-ins and direct imported models.

FAQs ​

Q1: Why does the DCC prompts "Please retry after exit rendering mode or finish the rendering within D5 Render"? ​

A:

The general situation is: after entering the picture/video mode in D5, and then performing the increase or decrease model operation in DCC and transmitting new data (real-time update or manual update) to D5, this error will occur.

image

In this case, exit the picture/video mode, and then re-associate the synchronization.

D5 Help Center